Wonderful Mary| Friendship Card

It’s a cool and drizzly September day here in the Pacific Northwest. I’m on the fence of wanting to celebrate fall’s arrival (yes, I know technically it’s in a couple of weeks) or just hoping to savor any last warm weather before Washington state goes back to daily rain for the next several months.

As a protest to the numerous fall and holiday cards on my social media feeds (however cute and inspirational they are!), decided to create a summery card for one of my sweet co-workers, Mary.

Mary is a wonderful, older nurse on my unit. When I work with her, we have a great shift together even if the unit is crazy busy. She is very knowledgeable, personable, and looks out for my other co-workers. I view her as a mentor of some sorts and a motherly figure. Lately, the unit and the patient loads we’ve had have been challenging. As many of you can relate, the team you work with on the daily can make or break how smooth your day may be! So I’m thankful she takes the time to be positive, encouraging, and always willing to help out her fellow co-worker, even if she may be drowning in her own work.

This card was a lot of fun to make and helped me feel like it was (almost) a summery day.

I cut some Canson XL watercolor paper to the size of an A2 card front. I prepared my watercolor paper with the EK Success powder tool for heat embossing. It makes such a difference in cutting down stray embossing powder! I used Versamark ink and the beautiful new Simon Says Stamp set called “Oh Happy Day”. I used Zing clear embossing powder and zapped the card front with my heat tool.

This was the most fun part of making this card… distress ink blending! I wanted bright, summery, and warm colors. I chose Wild Honey, Spiced Marmalade, Abandoned Coral, and Dried Marigold to ink blend with the mini ink blending tool. Thankfully, it didn’t take much time to blend these together.

I also wanted to incorporate another new Simon Says Stamp set called “You Matter” because of the wonderful sentiments included. I bought the coordinating die for this set that die cuts a large and script “You”.

I stamped the large “You” with more Versamark ink and used Simon Says Stamp Rose Gold embossing powder. I zapped it with the heat tool and die cut through my Sizzix Big Shot. FYI, you might want to use a paper piercer because this is an intricate die! I also had to use some of the Zig 2 way glue pen to adhere this die cut to the card front. I would recommend using the Lawn Fawn Stamp Shammy to clean off your stamps. I’ve tried cleaners and they work for sure, but I love how you only need water for the shammy to get your stamps squeaky clean.

As a finishing touch, I added some patterned paper on the card base before adhering the card front with some double-sided tape.

The sentiment used for the inside of the card  sums up how I feel about Mary : “YOU make the world a better place”.

I hope Mary enjoys this card as much as I enjoyed making it for her!

img_3358

Supplies Used (No Specific Order):

  • Simon Says Stamp Oh Happy Day stamp set
  • Simon Says Stamp You Matter stamp set, You die
  • Jen Hadfield Everyday paper pad
  • Pre-cut/ pre-scored card base (Unsure of brand, purchased last year at Michael’s)
  • Simon Says Stamp Rose Gold embossing powder
  • Score-pal double-sided adhesive ape
  • Tim Holtz mini Distress ink cubes: Wild Honey, Spiced Marmalade, Abandoned Coral, & Dried Marigold
  • Versamark Ink
  • Lawn Fawn Stamp Shammy
  • EK Success Powder Tool
  • American Craft ZING Clear Embossing powder
  • MISTI stamping tool
  • Zig 2 way glue pen
  • Simon Says Stamp Intense Black ink
  • Darice heat tool
  • Sizzix Big Shot die cutting machine
Leave a Reply

