Love Teamwork| Appreciation Card

A couple weeks ago, I had a really tough week at work caring for a challenging group of patients. It was one of those periods of time that the majority of the patients on our unit were pretty sick, challenging, and would be “long-term”, meaning they would be with us for well over a week (or month!).

I made it through those hard 3 12s (if you’re not familiar with the term, it’s a 12 hour shift) with the help of two outstanding coworkers. One was my CNA and the other was my assistant head nurse. I’ve mentioned it before, but who you work with can make or break your day, especially if you have to rely on one another to be able to do your job well.

img_3389

First I used the Lawn Fawn “Let’s Bokeh” stamp set to create the bokeh effect using the Hero Arts and Altenew mini inks. I used the Simon Says Stamp “It’s no Secret” stamp set for the fun sentiments for the scratch-off piece. Lastly, I used the Inky Antics scratch offs and placed over my “secret” message. I thought the cards needed a little more “oomph” so I decided to adhere some Doodlebug sequins as the final embellishment.

It was a fun card to make and I loved coyly slipping these cards into my co-workers’ mailbox for them to find later when they would be working again. I don’t know about in your  work field, but it seems like in a high energy, busy work environment, people don’t take the time to positively recognize one another. I am always humbled and pleasantly surprised when someone takes the time to say thank you or to be appreciative of something I may have done for them (even if I don’t remember doing it for them!). It’s still something I am working on for my daily practice, but I try hard to recognize these wonderful actions and words of those around me who help me take care of my patients the best I can.

Supplies Used (No Specific Order):

  • Lawn Fawn Let’s Bokeh stamp set
  • Hero Arts Jayne’s Fall Colors mini ink cubes (Lemon Yellow, Pumpkin Pie, Tangerine, Strawberry)
  • Altenew Shades of Purple mini ink cubes (Midnight Violet, Deep Iris, Lavender Fields, and Soft Lilac)
  • Simon Says Clear Stamps It’s No Secret stamp set
  • Doodlebug Assorted Sequins
  • Inky Antics 1″ scratch off stickers

 

Leave a Reply

