Messy Watercolor Thank You Cards | Honey Bee Stamps

My favorite cards to make are thank you cards. Practicing daily gratitude is something I strive to do but like most people, I can easily stray from this practice because of a hectic, stressful or unexpected event or week. However, I’ve had a couple really great days this week and then work was pretty rough. In the midst of the crappy work days I’ve experienced, I had to remind myself that I’ve had some pretty amazing days off and extraordinary people in my corner. To practice gratitude this week, I wanted to make a couple thank you cards!

For this post, I wanted to share a couple thank you cards that I’ve made with wonderful Honey Bee Stamps products and some messy watercoloring.

honeybee3

I wanted to play with my Kuretake Zig Clean Color Real Brush markers for this project, with a “messy watercolor” look in mind. Like many others, I get the best results when using Strathmore Bristol Smooth cardstock in combination with the stamped images and the Zig markers. Doing messy watercolor is a work in progress for me. I’m such a control freak in “real life” that imagining myself doing it in cardmaking is a little bit of a foreign concept to work around. I see tons of cardmakers that I follow have great luck with messy watercoloring and I’m comforted hearing them say that this technique is more forgiving in projects, haha.

I used a combination of the following Honeybee Stamp sets of Thanks & Giving, Country Blooms, and Country Wreath to create this card front. Since I’d be working with the water-based markers and a waterbrush, I needed to make sure that the ink I’d use to stamp would be water-proof. I stamped all these images in Hero Arts Intense Black ink, using my MISTI to help get the bold and clean impressions.

After stamping, I went to town on this card using a variety of colors from the marker set (there are a total of 80 colors as of today). I worked in sections because I found that if I waited too long to use my water brush, the marker ink would dry and it would become a little harder to add water and move the color around (in my experience).

honeybee2

 

There are sections that were messier than others and there were times I thought, “Did I go too far?”. I liked that despite having two identical stamped card fronts, I’m glad I experimented with the colors and the varying degrees of “messiness”. I am okay that they aren’t perfect because I think the stamped images and the bold black ink are the main attention grabbing components of these cards. I mounted them to card bases with double sided adhesive tape and wrote a quick note on the inside of the cards!

honeybee1

One of these cards will be going to a co-worker who is helping me out tremendously for a shift swap and the other card is going to a professional contact who took time out of her day to help me out with a professional interest.

What are your favorite cards to make? Do you like to do messy water coloring?

Supplies Used:

  • Honey Bee Stamps stamp sets: Thanks & Giving, Country Blooms, and Country Wreath
  • Hero Arts Intense Black Inkpad
  • Pentel Aquabrush
  • Scor-pal Double Sided Adhesive tape
  • Absorber shammy
  • Kuretake Zig Clean Color Real Brush Markers in the following:

063 Ochre, 031 Cobalt Blue, 040 Green, 022 Carmine Red, 083 Lilac, 020 Red, 202 Peach Pink, 027 Dark Pink, 047 May Green, 062 Dark Brown, 066 Dark Oatmeal, 024 Wine Red, 037 Cornflower Blue, and 080 Violet

  • Strathmore Bristol Smooth cardstock

 

2 thoughts on “Messy Watercolor Thank You Cards | Honey Bee Stamps

Leave a Reply

