YOU… Encouragement Card | Honey Bee Stamps

I had a lot of fun and love go into this card for a dear coworker/friend who needs some major encouragement right now. This was also the first time I got to play with some wonderful Honey Bee Stamps stamp sets. I’ve purchased two sets off of Simon Says Stamp and then I stumbled upon an announcement from Honey Bee Stamps on Instagram of some discounted, ‘Factory Second’ products. I joined a Facebook group and found lots of sets I’ve had my eyes on and was meaning to buy being offered at about 50% off! From the owner, Melissa, she explained ‘Factory Second” products as having minor imperfections where she didn’t want to sell these at full price. The only imperfections found on my stamp sets were that the plastic backing that has the inked impressions weren’t printed dark enough or aligned with the stamp. However, the quality of the stamp sets were high quality so I totally felt that the several sets I bought were definitely a steal!

I wanted to make a card to remind my sweet co-worker how special she is to the world. I used different elements from SEVERAL stamp sets to be able to create this card. I used some fun Simon Says Stamp and Hero Arts ink colors to make the words colorful. Since I was going to color with alcohol-based markers, the Nuvo markers, I wanted to stamp in Memento Tuxedo Black ink, which wouldn’t smear with these markers. I didn’t feel like coloring in the lines of the stamped images, so I tried a messy technique to give it more of a whimsical feeling. I liked how it turned out!

encouragement

You want to know what else was perfect? I was filled with so much happiness and gratitude for this coworker’s friendship after finishing this card. It was a very chilly day but sunny and the darn ice that plagued us for a couple days (Portland’s dubbed Snowpocalypse!) was finally melting.

Have you given someone down in his/her luck some encouragement lately? I think creating a card to remind someone how special they are helps lift your spirits too.

Supplies Used:

  • Honey Bee Stamps stamp sets in: Thanks & Giving, Smile, Country Wreath, Prayers, Kindness, and Country Blooms
  • Simon Says Stamp ink in: Dark Chocolate, Twirling Tutu, Hollyhock, and Teeny Bikini
  • Hero Arts ink in Strawberry
  • Memento Tuxedo Black ink
  • Tonic Studios Nuvo Markers
  • Shammy Absorber (“Mini” from Amazon)
  • Glossy Accents
  • Neenah Solar White cardstock in 80lb.
Leave a Reply

