Memory Keeping | Feb. 27 to Mar. 5

Just dropping by to share this past week’s memory keeping in this Big Happy Planner. I was able to wake up early this morning and fix up some iced coffee and breakfast so I could memory keep while catching up on some crafting videos. It did take me about an hour again this week to edit and print the photos, to do the layout and writing. I think it’s taking me so long because I don’t do prep work ahead of time and I take my time sorting through my stickers and washi to jazz up the layout. Perhaps this process will change if I am in a time crunch. One thing that was challenging was being able to recall the highs and lows of the week. I had to ask Matt “When did X happen this week, again?”. So perhaps for this upcoming week I could try making daily notes or editing pics as I go along… we shall see.

Nothing fancy in this week’s layout… again I’ve used the HP Sprocket to print out four photos from the past week. Side note, I need to keep playing with different photo editing apps and the HP Sprocket app to get the lighting of my photos just right. I’m not terribly bothered by the quality (can’t have too high of expectations for a portable photo printer!) but they are appearing darker and slightly off centered when printing.

To decorate, I’ve used the Penmate Flair felt tipped markers to write. For decoration, I’ve hopped around between all my MAMBI value pack books to pick out stickers and also utilized some MAMBI washi tape.

mk1-227-to-35
Full spread for February 27 to March 5
mk2-227-35
First half of the week
mk3-227-35
Second half of the week

Highs and Lows of the week:

Highs: I started orientation at my new job and Matt was offered a new management job! We traveled up to NE Dallas to go to a park/dog park. Hank loved it in the small dog area and we loved walking around the park. We also checked out a new Hispanic supermarket called Terry’s where we got some yummy goodies and some wonderful carne asada! Thankfully, today was also super productive with more unpacking, cleaning, and organizing. This past week I’ve been experimenting with new routes to work (as you can imagine, I’m a bit traumatized from my experience earlier this week!) and SO glad there are options. I’m a little bit closer to semblance of a routine being here in Dallas! Matt and I also popped into our nearest Hobby Lobby (which we didn’t have in Vancouver) and I purchased a new paperpad and some brush tipped markers so anticipate more chatter or use in upcoming posts!

Lows: I got in a fender bender on my first day heading into work orientation! Luckily nobody was hurt and I made it to orientation in the nick of time! My car is scruffed, dinged, and a little dented in the bumper (two people behind me caused the accident). Still, super annoying to deal with all of this because I’ve been playing phone tag with the person’s auto insurance. Another low is feeling disorganized and out of sorts moving here. I think it’s a bout of homesickness, being out of my comfort zone, and also adjusting to all these new changes. However, trying to look on the bright side of things and trying to be present in the moment. So lucky to have Matt… he has been gently reminding me to be practice more patience, gratitude, and bravery.

Upcoming

I bought my first crafty haul which I will share probably this upcoming weekend! I purchased a ton of cute and fun goodies from the latest Lawn Fawn release.

Also, did I ever mention I’m interested in learning how to letter? I started perusing the internet to look up resources and supplies.

How about you guys? Any tips or tricks for memory keeping or learning lettering? I’d love to know!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

