Marbled Birthday Card | Waffle Flower and Altenew Ink

This card is probably my most favorite card to make this year! I wanted to make a card for my niece, Gizelle. Her birthday was on May 6th and I didn’t mail this card out to her until this past Monday. It took me awhile to decide what kind of birthday card I wanted to send her.  She has been so supportive of my crafting hobby and she comments on my projects. I know she loves gold foiling and she is very much a fashionista (she runs her own LA-based lifestyle business!) so I thought a marbled theme would be perfect for her!

The main supplies I’ve used today were from a recent haul from Simon Says Stamp.

The main star of this card is the Layered Marble stamp set from Waffle Flower. On the back of the packaging, it has a nice guide of how you can layer the stamp set and gives you a guide of how to layer your inks from lightest to darkest. The guide gave me a good idea of how the set works (looking at the set you would probably be confused as to where to start) but I love that I could decide which image I would use first (the marbled effect is pretty forgiving!).

Not going to lie, I love solid and dark colors. Altenew has gorgeous inks, but I think their best line is of the grays! I primarily used their newest release of grays which are aptly named Silver Stone, Industrial Diamond, Pure Graphite and Limestone. There are previously released gray inks which I also used : Lava Rock, Morning Frost, Moon Rock, and Evening Gray.

I used gray and black gel pens to help fill in random areas. I probably didn’t have to, but I did to help add a little sparkle. In hindsight, I should have probably stamped more of the images to take up more of the white space.

I sprayed some Heidi Swapp Minc Reactive Mist. You must let the mist completely dry before using foil and the Minc machine Don’t press the spray too hard as you might get some big splotches I would practice spray away from your project and only spray when you feel comfortable of how much product to spray. On one of the blog posts from Heidi Swapp, it recommended to let the mist dry OVERNIGHT. I probably waited a couple hours only because I sprayed conservatively. I then layered gold foil over the splattered area and ran it through the Minc.

marbled card

 

Leave a Reply

