HUGS Card | Concord & 9th

Hello!

Last week was a busy and chaotic week so I’m hoping this week will be a better one. For any nurses who happen to read here, happy belated Nurses Week!

This card was made for one of my work leaders. Without going into details, it seems like 2017 hasn’t been her year so far; it’s like she cannot catch a break! This HUGS card is meant for gratitude for her leadership and kindness as well as encouragement and positivity for the weeks ahead.

The main products I’ve used for this card are from Concord & 9th and Simon Says Stamp inks. Originally from a previous haul, I picked up the Concord & 9th Floral Fill-In Patterned paper not only because of how cute it was, but I’m a sucker for florals, grays, and stripes found in this set. After placing my order, I found out that these cards were specifically made to coordinate with the Floral Fill-In stencils (a type of layering stencils). So I waited until another purchase to get them.

I started off with picking one of the papers, which already had pre-printed flowers and splatters. I layered the first stencil and sponged on three different inks- Twirling Tutu, Rosie Cheeks, and Hollyhock. I was aiming for a messy and organic look, so I haphazardly sponged some flowers or petals more heavy handed than others. The beauty with these stencils is that you don’t have to layer them to get the floral look. I used the second stencil (it is meant for thinner details in the petals) with the darkest ink I chose, Watermelon.

I really could have left the card front as is, but I wanted to help soften the florals (at the time I thought the colors were a bit too bold) so with the same inks and sponge, I tried creating an ombre look with vellum. I felt like the front of the card needed something a bit extra, so I rummaged through my die cuts and found a newer die I haven’t used yet. It’s the My Favorite Things die that reads HUGS. I had the idea that I would die cut this sentiment from more Concord & 9th’s paper. My picture may not be detailed enough but the paper has repeating words of love and happiness. I wanted some dimension but wasn’t feeling the foam tape today so I cut the HUGS word three more times from cheaper cardstock. I glued them together and while I could have left the HUGS word alone (hint, I didn’t), I decided to tie it in with the inks I’ve used. Hence, some more ink sponging  🙂

IMG_4737
As I’ve mentioned, I could have left the card like this. I love the messy and imperfect look

I hope you get a chance to try out these newer Concord & 9th products. I think you can create many looks with the stencils and the innovative paper; I hope they come out with more like these!

Supplies Used

  • Concord & 9th Floral Fill-In Patterned Paper
  • Concord & 9th Floral Fill-In Stencils
  • Simon Says Stamp mini ink cubes: Twirling Tutu, Rosie Cheeks, Hollyhock and Watermelon
  • Neenah Solar White 110lb. cardstock
  • Simon Says Stamp vellum
  • Tombow Mono Dots adhesive runner
  • Tim Holtz Mini ink blending tool
  • My Favorite Things Hugs sentiment
Leave a Reply

