Encouragement Card | Honey Bee Stamps

Finally! I finally got to play a little bit with some of my goodies from my latest Honey Bee Stamps haul.

Not going to lie, the past couple of weeks have been a little stressful and I feel like I’m finally getting out a temporary funk! I didn’t make this card for anyone specific, but it did act as a bit of a reminder and encouragement to myself to keep up a positive attitude, despite some bumpy and undesirable experiences that have cropped up.

What I did first was stamp several images in Memento Tuxedo Black ink on my card front from the Stick With Me stamp set. I used the Hexagon stencil (not sure this is on sale, but I think I received this as a promotional item during the last big sale) and strategically laid it over the images so that the hexagon framed a majority of the image. I used sponge daubers to messily sponge on ink with Simon Says Stamp Lemon Zest, Hollyhock, Jellybean and Willow. The green and yellow inks were layered for the greenery *(leaves and cacti) and then HollyHock for the stand-alone flowers. I used a couple lightTonic Studios Nuvo alcohol markers to color the leaves (or are they flowers?) above the cacti.

I thought about leaving the card alone but I really wanted to use my FAVORITE sentiment from the Prickly Sentiments stamp set : “Bloom where you are planted”. I love that sentiment so much so, I recently purchased a Mantra Band with the same saying as a daily reminder for myself. A lot has changed and happened since we’ve moved to Texas and despite some surprises and disappointments (I’m the queen of expectations!), I must remind myself to make the best of any situation.

The sentiment surprised me a bit by being a bit longer than I expected, so I had to let it overhang on the card front (which I typically don’t do). I stamped the sentiment in the HollyHock ink on some beautiful Lawn Fawn Watercolor Wishes paper. I cut a couple more banners in different paper colors from this paper pad and attempted to layer them for added interest.

bloom where you are planted

Real talk, I wasn’t a big fan of cacti and succulents a year ago. Since it’s been so trendy and I’ve seen some awesome projects, this trend has definitely grown on me!

Supplies Used:

Honey Bee Stamps Prickly Sentiments Stamp Set

Honey Bee Stamps Stick With Me Stamp Set

Honey Bee Stamps Hexagon Stencil

Simon Says Stamp inks in: Lemon Zest, HollyHock, Jellybean, and Willow

Lawn Fawn Watercolor Wishes 6×6 paper pad

Lawn Fawn Sentiment Banners die cuts

Memento Tuxedo Black Ink

Tonic Studios Nuvo Alcohol-based markers in #449 and $453

Leave a Reply

