Plane and Simple Stamp Set | Lawn Fawn

I finally got to play with some of my Lawn Fawn goodies!

As I’ve mentioned in my previous post, I purchased and received my newest Lawn Fawn goodies on the 22nd but only got to play with them this weekend.

Not going to lie, I didn’t have a specific vision or idea for this card. I was winging it and I was only attached to the idea of ink blending and a sky background. First I cut some cloud masks with an older set called Lawn Fawn Spring Showers die (which has a matching stamp set too!).

Side bar: do any of you have the nifty My Favorite Things Cloud stencil? I passed on it first glance when it came out and I totally regret not snagging it when I had the chance! Many places have sold out and are back-ordered.

But back to this card…I placed the cloud masks randomly on my card front. I used an ink blending tool and used three Lawn Fawn inks : Minty Green, Merman, and Mermaid. It wasn’t the look I was envisioning in my mind, so I re-positioned those masks and did another layer of ink blending. I would recommend cutting out several cloud masks because if you are a bit heavy handed like myself, the masks get bent and come up from your card after prolonged blending.

LF Cloud Masking

I wanted to utilize the Lift the Flap dies to reveal the sentiment so I did my best (impatiently) to center the die and ran it through my Big Shot. One thing I’d advise is to use your bone folder to make the crease even, I was getting a bit of bulging originally when I was bending back the flap, so something to be aware of if you don’t use a bone folder tool.

I took another cardstock panel and did similar cloud mask ink blending. Using strong double-sided adhesive tape, I adhered the pieces together.

The flap die I used is the biggest one from the set and could be used to hide/reveal a traditional gift card. The Plane and Simple set is so cute and now I think I’ll add the coordinating dies to my wish list because I tried cutting out that heart smoke trail and I gave up!

I stamped one of the airplane stamps from the set and this is where I regret not getting the coordinating dies! I fussy cut and used a marker on the edges to sharpen the image a little bit. For some added interest, I used the same cloud dies and cut more clouds from vellum and Lawn Fawn’s Watercolor Wishes paper pad. I used foam dots to add some dimension to the clouds and plane.

LF Plane and Simple 1

LF Plane and Simple 2

On the inside, I chose that sentiment, “The sky’s the limit” and stamped some hearts in Manatee ink. To finish my card, I added some Doodlebugs sequins that matched the inks I’ve used.

LF Interior sentiment

Have you perfected the ink blending sky background? Any tips or suggestions?

Supplies Used

  • Lawn Fawn Plane and Simple stamp set
  • Lawn Fawn Watercolor Wishes 6×6 paper pad
  • Lawn Fawn mini ink cubes in: Mermaid, Manatee and Merman
  • Lawn Fawn Minty Fresh ink
  • Lawn Fawn Spring Showers die cut
  • Simon Says Stamp masking paper
  • Simon Says Stamp vellum
  • Doodlebugs sequins
  • Neenah Solar White 80lb. cardstock
  • Tim Holtz Mini Ink Blending tools
  • Foam dots

 

2 thoughts on “Plane and Simple Stamp Set | Lawn Fawn

  1. Thank you! The blended background was fun to do and I’m glad I have something in my stash where I’m able to replicate the look of the clouds like other stencils I’ve seen and wanted to buy. Makes it easier to put off those purchases 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

