Envelope Punch Board | We R Memory Keepers

As you’ve read in my previous post, I talked about my June challenge. This past weekend, I was still feeling unwell from the nasty head cold I had following Memorial Day weekend. I wasn’t feeling particularly inspired or energetic to be able to come up with new projects. However, I really wanted to do something related to my June challenge!

I dug out my never opened Envelope Punch Board by We R Memory Keepers (WRMK for short!) and some old patterned paper. I purchased this tool probably a few months into my cardmaking journey. I wanted this tool because of its ability to be able to create envelopes of numerous sizes! Sometimes a plain or solid colored envelope can be underwhelming when you have created an awesome card, so using specialty paper or patterned paper can “up” the cuteness factor. I now know I can stamp and embellish my envelopes but at least this is another alternative too!

WRMK Envelope Punch Board
The unboxing of the Envelope Punch Board: 1) The tool itself 2) A bone folder 3) 2 detailed instruction inserts 

As a disclaimer, the Envelope Punch Board has been in the crafting industry for awhile now and the patterned paper is at least a couple years old. This isn’t a review for the Envelope Punch Board because I only used it once and only for A2-sized envelopes. The Die Cuts with a View (DCWV) Seaside Yacht 12×12 paperpad was released in 2015 so I think it may be out of circulation when I try to Google it online.

The punch board normally retails for $24.99 and includes a scoring tool, instructions, measurement guide and scoring line etched on the tool. It also has a corner rounder that you could use for your envelopes or your cards.

WRMK Instruction
Measurements and dimensions of possible envelopes you can create. Not pictured is the back with step by step pictures on how to create the envelope

Click here  to see the product description for the tool!

Click here  to see the official WRMK’s YouTube video on how to use it.

2 Step Process
This is my interpretation of the steps. First you take your pre-cut paper and align it with the measurement indicated on the chart. Then you push down the punch and score at the etched score line (to the right of the paper). You rotate the paper (counter clockwise direction, so to your left) and align the score mark as indicated. Repeat the process for all sides. As I’ve mentioned, I got a little lost so I definitely had to use the video!

I took some of my favorite papers from the paperpad and followed the directions and insert from the packaging. Not going to lie, I was briefly confused by the directions as I went along but the video quickly cleared it up for me. In addition to this tool, you’ll need a paper trimmer to cut your paper to the measurements needed for your desired envelope and then a strong adhesive for the seams when constructing it. I used my Tombow adhesive runner but thin double-sided tape should work too!

I’m posting a link to a video  I found helpful to avoid making measurement mistakes! I found that one of the envelopes I made didn’t look quite right. I think there is a bit of a learning curve with this tool to make sure it all aligns correctly. As the linked video mentions, one wrong score or punch can cause the remainder of the card to be inaccurate and misshapen when you try to assemble it.

Envelope
What I love about using patterned paper (especially if it’s double sided!) is that when the recipient opens the envelope, there is a pop of color from inside!

Envelopes

Don’t these envelopes look nice and nautical? I suppose I need to start creating cards to go inside them 😉

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

