Thanks for the Opportunity! | Thank You Card

On October 4th, I spent most of the day in airports, on my way to the Magnet conference in Orlando, FL. I was to fly out from Portland and my flight got delayed and re-routed to Dallas Fort Worth, Texas. I was almost jogging to my connecting flight, which felt like it was on the other side of this huuuuge airport. Finally made it within 5 minutes of boarding and made it to Orlando. The funny part was waiting for our luggage, which was close to 45 minutes. This traveling day was a little stressful but somehow very comical to me. It should have been a sign for how the rest of my trip would be, eh? The Magnet conference was short lived because of Hurricane Matthew and we ended up flying home early because it was canceled. Last note of this short lived event, there were close to 10,000 attendees! It was inspiring and really fun to be around so many nurses who were also passionate and excited about the awesome things we strive to do; not only for patients but for our hospitals, communities, and the future

For those who attend professional conferences, as you know, it is crazy expensive to attend in addition of the related expenses. I was very fortunate to have been asked by my nursing director to attend on behalf of our hospital. On the trip, I spent a brief amount of time getting to know our chief nursing officer, Mary.

Mary is the inspiration of this card. She didn’t fly home with our hospital group on Thursday afternoon. She stayed until Sunday to be with her family that was evacuated because of the hurricane. I wanted to make a card to thank her for the opportunity for being able to help represent our hospital and to be exposed to such inspiring and excited healthcare leaders.

I used the Lawn Fawn Party Animal stamp set to create the background. I used the balloon stamp and the random accents to fill this panel. The sentiment is from Simon Says Stamp You Matter set. In terms of the inks I’ve used, I used LOTS!

I didn’t keep track of what inks went with what image, but these are a variety of Altenew inks and Simon Says Stamp inks.

Finally, as an accent in random spots (but how random can you really be?), I used Doodlebugs sequins with Zots Bling glue dots (Thanks Nichol Spohr for this suggestion!).

img_3497

Hopefully you guys are given an exciting opportunity that helps “reset” you to become more excited and passionate about your work! Don’t forget to say thank you for it too! 😉

 

Supplies Used (No Specific Order)

Lawn Fawn Party Animal stamp set

Simon Says Stamp You Matter stamp set

Doodlebug Sequins (Rainbow variety set)

Altenew Inks: Glacier Caves mini ink cube set, Warm Gray mini ink cube set, & Cool Summer Night mini ink cube set

Simon Says Stamp mini ink cube sets: Teeny Bikini, Melon, Mint Candy, Steel Blue, Hollyhock, and Catkin

Zots Bling Glue Dots

Neenah Solar White 80lb. cardstock

Leave a comment